Southern California thrashers ATTACKHEAD have revealed the artwork and the track-listing for their new album “Voices in the Dark – Second Attack”.  The album will be released January 25, 2011 via Twisted Hillbilly Records.

Lead vocalist and guitarist Mark Chapman had the following to say about the new release from ATTACKHEAD:

“We had a great time recording the CD back in Tennessee. We wanted to create a CD that was pure old school thrash reminiscent of the 80’s era. If you are looking for some straight forward thrash then this is the CD for you.”


1)      Intro

2)      Voices in the Dark

3)      Infected

4)      Rebirth

5)      Make Me Suffer

6)      Lead the Blind

7)      Posessed

8)      Blame

9)      Dark Ritual

10)  Waste of Life

11)  Tazer

When the powerhouse Southern California based thrash metal band ATTACKHEAD comprised of Mark Chapman (lead vocals, lead guitar), George Portoulas (lead guitar, backing vocals), Steve Cordero (drums) and Eddie “Munster” Ellis (bass, backing vocals), put out the original version of “Voices in the Dark” back in February 2008, its songs received airplay on over 50 terrestrial and Internet stations worldwide, from the UK, Canada, Belgium and Greece to Mexico, Germany and Argentina. Attackhead’s intense playing and dark themes have led to sponsorships by Spider Energy Drink, Tsunami Cables, Coffin Case, Fernandes Guitars and Jim Dunlop. Attackhead won Best Artist at the 2010 Street Official Music Awards held in Upland, CA.

Wider distribution of “Voices in the Dark” was a problem, however, until Knoxville, Tennessee based Twisted Hillbilly Records took an interest and funded a higher budget re-recorded version with two new tracks and all new artwork and packaging. Twisted Hillbilly Records is an offshoot of the Twisted Hillbilly magazine series’ metal edition. When the magazine did a short but positive review of the original Voices in the Dark, Chapman began talking to label owner Moe Hillbilly, who offered to sign the band for a brand new recording. ATTACKHEAD opted first to take a better crack at the one they had. Working with a crew of veteran engineers, the band retreated to a studio cabin in the woods and emerged with an explosive CD, which fits perfectly in the groove alongside recent hit projects by legends like Testament, Slayer and Megadeth. The band’s trademark is the fiery interplay and seamless mix between the electric guitars of Chapman and Portoulas, the fast hands of drummer Steve Cordero and the crushing grooves of bassist Eddie “Munster” Ellis.

Chapman, the only original member still with the band, formed ATTACKHEAD in Orange County, California in late 2002 with a simple mission to “play good, solid, tight music and have a good time doing it”. That mission has been fulfilled working with various members, including, at one point a female singer (who fronted ATTACKHEAD on their 2004 album “Destruction and Pain”). ATTACKHEAD has figured out a very unique approach to playing live gigs over the past few years. Rather than continue playing small local clubs to 20-30 friends, ATTACKHEAD has achieved great success playing military shows throughout the Western United States.

Over the past year, ATTACKHEAD has performed numerous times at Ft. Irwin National Training Center, U.S. Naval base, Ventura County, the Marine Base at 29 Palms and the Marine Corps Air Station in Yuma, AZ, in addition to the Ontario, CA USO. Aside from giving back to the troops, ATTACKHEAD reaches hundreds of men and women ages 18-25 who will no doubt share the good news of the group with their fellow servicemen and women at their next posts. They are supporters of Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America (IAVA), the Wounded Warrior Project, as well as the Melanoma Research Foundation, and pass out pamphlets for these organizations at their shows.

For more on ATTACKHEAD be sure to visit:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :