Fen & De Arma: Towards the Shores of the End

After two years Fen return once again with 4 magnificent tracks of well composed melancholy. With a breathtaking sound image that dives into fathomless oceans and sweeps endless horizons this is without doubt one of their strongest and most promising compositions up to date. De Arma follows close behind, taking you on a solitary journey into oblivion. Delivering 3 tracks of a more straight forward approach, from monotone grey to groovy elements and into the dark… Be sure to experience this release, because if you don’t, you will miss out on an fantastic voyage!

RIYL: Agalloch, Alcest, In the Woods, Armagedda, etc

1. Soilbound – FEN

2. Ageless Threnody – FEN

3. Towards The Shores of The End – FEN

4. Bereft (Reprise ) – FEN

5. Crimson Waters Ebbing The Shore – DE ARMA

6. Noemata – DE ARMA

7. From Horizon To Oblivion – DE ARMA

An expression of loss and melancholic yearning, the primary goal with Fen is to draw the listener into a windswept and desolate landscape, bereft of hope. The band was born in early 2006 when Grungyn, Theutus and The Watcher came together to embark on a project that fused the cold rage of black metal with more reflective influences from the post-rock/shoegaze genres. Initially intended as a studio project, the three members quickly found a rich seam of creative inspiration and in the summer of 2006 recorded the three songs that would end up as the ‘Ancient Sorrow’ EP.

The three members began to emba rk on a s eries of live s hows in 2007 and during this period, Drauglu in joined the ranks. In early 2007, the band were contacted by Northern Silence Productions who expressed interest in releasing the ‘Ancient Sorrow’ EP on both CD and vinyl. This offer was gratefully accepted and in October 2007, Ancient Sorrow was released to great acclaim within the underground. During this period Fen played shows with key acts such as Agalloch, Skyforger and Negura Bunget, earning a reputation for intense and emotional performances. The band swiftly caught the attention of Code666 Records who signed the band for the release of their debut album, ‘The Malediction Fields’ which was released in January 2009 and swiftly garnered very positive reviews.

Early 2010 saw Æðelwalh replace Draugluin on keyboards & backing vocals. Armed with this latest line-u p, the band are preparing to embark on a tour with Negura Bunget in the Spring before commencing the recording of their second album ‘Epoch’. Vocalist/guitarist The Watcher had this to say of the material that will appear on the newest record:‘The last 18 months or so have been a grueling time for me personally and Epoch reflects this completely. Darker and more reflective, we are giving voice to the pain, desolation and relentless solitude that are the fundaments of the human experience.

Formed as a idea in 2009 by A. (Also known from the defunct Armagedda and Whirling) and later developed to a side-project. De Arma translates to ”The Poor; The Poor Ones” and it’s tunes is highly built upon dreaming soundscapes and atmospheres with varying vocal performances.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com