UFO Announces New North American Tour Dates


Additional dates for UFO‘s 2011 North American tour have just been revealed.  The band will be touring North America in support of their greatest hits collection entitled “Best of a Decade” which is out now on SPV/Steamhammer.  The East Coast leg of the tour will kick off May 11, 2011 at The Crazy Donkey in Farmingdale, NY.  The following are a list of all confirmed dates as of now:

May 5, 2011 – Farmingdale, NY @ The Crazy Donkey

May 6, 2011 – Poughkeepsie, NY @ The Chance

May 7, 2011 – West Springfield, VA @ Jaxx

May 10, 2011 – New Hope, PA @ Havanna

May 11, 2011 – Baltimore, MD @ Bourbon Street

May 13, 2011 – New York, NY @ BB Kings

May 14, 2011 – Foxboro, MA (Boston) @ The Showcase Live

May 15, 2011 – Londonberry, NH @ Tupelo Music Hall

May 18, 2011 – Milwaukee, WI @ Shank Hall

May 20, 2011 – Chicago, IL @ House of Blues

May 21, 2011 – St Charles/Chicago, IL @ The Aracada Theater

May 22, 2011 – Akron, OH @ The Tangier

Expect a West Coast leg of the tour to be announced soon for this Fall.

True rock legends such as UFO are characterized not only by the fact that they have added several classic anthems to the annals of rock history, but that their musical output, after many years, still remains at such a consistently high level and they  always have something new and fresh coming up.  With classic albums such as “Phenomenon”, “Force it” and “No Heavy Pettin” Phil Mogg, Vinnie Moore, Andy Parker and Paul Raymond still sound vital and imaginative to this day.

UFO’s global breakthrough came when German guitarist, Michael Schenker, joined the fold in 1973, having left his band the Scorpions to accept an offer from Phil Mogg and Pete Way. UFO released three consecutive rock classics with Schenker (“Phenomenon” (1974), “Force It” (1975) and “No Heavy Pettin'” (1976)), featuring classics such as: ‘Doctor Doctor’, ‘Shoot, Shoot’, and ‘Rock Bottom’. Following the arrival of keyboardist/rhythm guitarist Paul Raymond, UFO released the albums “Lights Out” (1977) and “Obsession” (1978), which included the hit singles ‘Too Hot To Handle’, ‘Lights Out’ and ‘Only You Can Rock Me’. Their live release “Strangers In The Night” came out in 1979 and is still considered to be one of the best live releases of all time, unfortunately, this also brought about the end of the Mogg, Way, Schenker, Parker & Raymond line-up.

The reorganized band underwent fifteen years marked by various eras and numerous line-up changes. To everyone’s surprise, autumn 1993 saw the return of the former UFO line-up consisting of Mogg, Way, Schenker, Parker and Raymond. This new edition of the classic team released the album “Walk On Water”, their first joint effort after in over fifteen years and they embarked on a world tour. However, Schenker left UFO again during the “Walk On Water” tour to continue working with his own group, MSG, while Mogg & Way went on to release their second album, Chocolate Box. The UFO album “Covenant and Sharks”, recorded by Mogg, Way and Schenker, arrived at the stores in 2000 and 2002. Vinnie Moore soon joined the band and recorded songs for the new album “You Are Here”which also featured Jason Bonham taking over the drumming duties. During the subsequent world tour, UFO recorded a show in Germany, which was later released as the live album, “Showtime”, as well as a DVD featuring additional bonus material. In 2006 left UFO to join Foreigner and was replaced by UFO’s original drummer, Andy Parker for their release “The Monkey Puzzle” In 2009 UFO released the critically acclaimed album “The Visitor”.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com