SCAR OF THE SUN To Release Debut Album

SCAR OF THE SUN is a new musical formation from Athens, Greece (although formed in London, UK by Terry Nikas, Stamos Koliousis and Achilleas Gatsopoulos) which is rapidly rising through the fields of modern atmospheric metal. A string of important and successful live appearances and a very serious studio endeavour are leading the band’s effort to establish their name in the contemporary metal scene.

In August 2009 the band inked a deal with independent band manager and current host of MTV Greece’s Headbangers Ball Orpheus Spiliotopoulos, and after a series of successful live appearances in their hometown, SCAR OF THE SUN headlined Athens’ legendary venue Texas Necropolis. After those thriving appearances, the band was invited to play at Rock Hard magazine’s festival in early June ’09, and straight after that they landed a spot on the billing of Greece’s biggest and most prestigious summer festival, Rockwave Festival 2009, playing alongside Slipknot, Mastodon, Down, Lita Ford, Saxon and many others. In January 2010, SCAR OF THE SUN was the opening act on two Greek dates for Pain Of Salvation, Lake Of Tears, Agua De Anique and Disillusion and in the summer of the same year they participated in an online competition put together by Century Media Records for Dark Tranquillity’s Where Death Is Most Alive Tour 2010. With a total of 18.000 votes in favour and out of 158 bands that were competing in the final round, the band won the chance to support the legendary Swedish death metal act on three dates of their European Tour in October.

The band’s hard-work ethic attracted the attention of renowned Canadian producer Rhys Fulber (Paradise Lost, Fear Factory, Megadeth, Machine Head), who offered his services for the co-production and mixing of SCAR OF THE SUN’S debut album. The mastering was handled by Greg Reely (Paradise Lost, Strapping Young Lad, Theatre Of Tragedy, Fear Factory, Machine Head). At the same time the band secured a deal with Scarlet Records for the worldwide release of the album, which is expected for May 26th, 2011 (Europe) and June 14th, 2011 (USA).

‘A Series Of Unfortunate Concurrencies’ contains 10 tracks, featuring prominent guest appearances by Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity), Bob Katsionis (Firewind), Marios Iliopoulos (Nightrage), Chris Antoniou (Septic Flesh) and Leah Randi (Conjure One). The resulting sound is multi-dimensional, blending many elements and influences; from gothic and doom atmospheres to modern electronic samples, from symphonic arrangements to the Swedish sound, with a touch of progressive structures and lots of heaviness and drama, all funnelled through SCAR OF THE SUN’S musical concept.

Director/animator/designer Achilleas Gatsopoulos (recently replaced behind the drums by Thanos Pappas) who is still responsible for all of the band’s artwork, along with Bob Katsionis (Firewind) directed the band’s first video, for the song ‘Swansong of Senses’, which will be released soon.

After having been selected to support British goth metal pioneers Paradise Lost on the first date of the latter’s Draconian Times Tour, on March 18th, at the Fuzz Club in Athens and added to the bill of the city’s 10th Rockfest N’ Aid, on March 20th, Scar Of The Sun will celebrate the release of their much anticipated new album on stage, in Athens again, as the direct support act of legendary Dark Tranquillity, on May 21st and 22nd.


  1. Disposable
  2. Swansong Of Senses
  3. Ode To A Failure
  4. 8th Ocean Dried
  5. Gravity
  6. A Series Of Unfortunate Concurrencies
  7. Burn The Memory
  8. A Pause In The Disaster
  9. Disciple Of The Sun
  10. I Lost


Terry Nikas                          Vocals, Keys, Samples, Programming

Alexi Charalampous            Guitars

Greg Eleftheriou                  Guitars

Panagiotis Gatsopoulos       Bass

Thanos Pappas                     Drums

For more info visit:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :