Stoner Rockers THE QUILL To Release “Full Circle” Album in July

THE QUILLis back! Five years since their last studio album the band is ready to once again spread its musical gospel. The new album “Full Circle” is packed with heavy rock firmly rooted in the seventies but vibrant and updated rather than retro.  Make sure you head to the bottom of the article and check out a video I found plus the track Voodoo Caravan off their 2002 album.

The Swedish four-piece has been around since the nineties and went on to release three acclaimed albums on SPV: “Voodoo Caravan” (2001), “Hooray! It’s a Deathtrip” (2003) and “In Triumph” (2006).

With the touring cycle for the latter record completed, the band and singer Magnus Ekwall parted ways and THE QUILL was put on the backburner. Drummer Jolle Atlagic joined now defunct Finnish glam legends Hanoi Rocks – touring Europe and Japan in the process – and also did a stint in The Real McCoy band alongside Foo Fighters guitarist Chris Shiflett. Christian Carlsson (guitar) and Robert Triches (bass) also kept busy with other projects.

In 2010, it was time for THE QUILL again. Songs were written and Magnus Arnar (X-Ground Mower and Soul 78) filled the vacant vocalist spot. It was a perfect match. The versatile 33 year-old has heaps of energy and a powerful voice that fits THE QUILL like a glove. Magnus has the required range to sing the old stuff but also a rawness that the band was looking for.

Yes, there’s a new twist to the sound. Less is more, if you will. The songs are sharp, direct and catchy, built around big riffs, big grooves and big hooks. Just check out “Sleeping With Your Enemy” and try to get that chorus out of your head. Surrender to the up-tempo outburst of energy that is “Medicine”. And physically feel how “Bring it on” simply rocks like a motherfucker, it has very much  of a classic rock sound but yet still has that contemporary feel in the Foo Fighters/Queens Of The Stone Age vein.

Needless to say, THE QUILL is a band reborn. This is what they are meant to do. Great music and great shows will always find an audience.

Magnus Arnar (vocals)
Christian Carlsson (guitars)
Jolle Atlagic (drums)
Robert Triches (bass)

”The Quill” (1995)
”Silver haze” (1999)
”Voodoo caravan” (2002)
”Hooray! It’s a deathtrip” (2003)
”In triumph” (2006)
”Full Circle” (2011)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :