Is New Thin Lizzy Nothing More Than A Glorified Tribute Band????

The Belfast Telegraph reports that almost 25 years after the death of legendary Irish rocker Phil Lynott, THIN LIZZY is set to hit the road again — this time with THE ALMIGHTY frontman Ricky Warwick at the helm.

Warwick, 43, replaces Lynott in the latest reincarnation, joining THIN LIZZY alumni Scott Gorham, Brian Downey and Darren Wharton. Also on board are DEF LEPPARD‘s Vivian Campbell and former WHITESNAKE bassist Marco Mendoza.

Stuart Bailie of the Oh Yeah Centre in Belfast said that while the new THIN LIZZY lineup was great news for Warwick, whom he described as a “100% rocker,” he thought the new formation’s pedigree “was suspect.”

“It’s crossing over, really, from reunion to tribute band, so it’s something of a hybrid,” he said.

“I saw the great THIN LIZZY in the Ulster Hall in 1978 and that memory is still intact. That is the way I want to keep it.

“When you see QUEEN perform with Paul Rodgers on vocals, it is not quite the same experience as seeing the original QUEEN and I’m guessing it will be the same with this lineup, although it does have some of its original lineup.

“What people will be seeing is a photocopy of a photocopy — although I wouldn’t knock the guys for doing it. Does it sully Lynott‘s legacy?

“I’m not sure about that but it’s never going to be the same experience without the great man himself.”

Read more from the Belfast Telegraph.

THIN LIZZY 2010 is:

Scott Gorham – Guitar
Brian Downey – Drums
Darren Wharton – Keyboards
Vivian Campbell – Guitar
Marco Mendoza – Bass Guitar
Ricky Warwick – Lead Vocals / Guitar

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :